Author: taiye agbaje

  • Court adjourns Yahaya Bello’s arraignment until June 27

     

    Court adjourns Yahaya Bello’s arraignment until June 27

    Arraignment

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 13, 2024 (NAN) A Federal High Court, Abuja, on Thursday, adjourned the arraignment of former Kogi Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello, until June 27.

    Justice Emeka Nwite, SAN, fixed the date after counsel for the ex-governor, Adeola Adedipe, SAN, informed the court that the EFCC’s lead counsel, Kemi Pinhero, SAN, earlier informed the defence team that today’s proceeding would not be convenient.

    When the matter was called, Adedipe, who was in court for another matter, expressed surprise that Oyedepo was actually in court after an agreement between the two parties that junior lawyers would be sent to pick a new date, at the instance of the EFCC lead counsel, Mr Pinhero.

    He said it seemed there was misalignment between the anti-graft’s lead counsel, Pinhero and Oyedepo.

    He said Pinhero approached the defence lead lawyer, Abdulwahab Mohammed, SAN, in his office, through a junior lawyer who also appeared in court alongside Oyedepo, that today’s hearing would not be convenient for them to proceed.

    He said: “And as senior counsel, it was best agreed by way of convenient for another date.

    “It was agreed administratively that junior lawyers be sent to court today to formally take a date as agreed by parties for June 27.

    “I personally also approached the registry to confirm this information and it was confirmed to me. That was why I told the court that my appearance today is for another matter.

    “What the prosecution has done this morning is an ambush to bring the defendant once again to the realms of social media.”

    He insisted that it was at Pehinro’s behest that the matter be adjourned until June 27 for arraignment.

    He said but for the decision of the EFCC to seek an adjournment to a future date for his arraignment, the ex-governor was ready to appear in court today.

    “Under 266 of ACJA, there are instances when defendants don’t need to come and this is one of them.

    “We came here to pick a date. Of what use will the defendant coming here be? It is the prosecuting counsel that approached us, we did not approach them. We have nothing to hide,” Adedipe said.

    Responding, Oyedepo disagreed with Adedipe.

    He said he was not aware of any meeting that happened between their lead counsel and the defence.

    However, a senior lawyer, Simon Lough, who came for another matter, stood up to intervene.

    He said it was unnecessary for senior counsel.to be attacking each other in court on a simple matter.

    He said since Adedipe had explained why the defendant was not in court, a new date should be agreed on.

    Lough said at the new date, the court could inquire from the prosecution lead counsel on what transpired.

    He advised the lawyers to stop the argument in order not to waste the time of the court on other matters.

    Justice Nwite thereafter adjourned the case to June 27 on agreement of counsel after an undertaking that the defendant would appear on the next adjourned day.(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    =======

    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Famzhi CEO, Mariam Suleiman jailed 5 years for defrauding investors

    Famzhi CEO, Mariam Suleiman jailed 5 years for defrauding investors

    Judgment

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 11, 2024 (NAN) A Federal High Court, Abuja, on Tuesday, sentenced the Chairman and Managing Director of Famzhi Interbiz Ltd, Mariam Suleiman, to five years imprisonment without option of fine for allegedly defrauding investors to the tune of over N2 billion.

    Justice Inyang Ekwo, in a judgment, found Suleiman and her company guilty of the allegations preferred against them in counts one and two by the Federal Government.

    “Upon the provisions of Section 516 of the Criminal Code Act and Section 56(6) of the Securities and Investment Act being read to the defendants, for understanding of the terms of punishment therein.

    “And upon hearing the allocutus of the learned counsel for the defendants and considering same, I am minded not to impose the full punishment on the 1st defendant (Suleiman) particularly,” he said.

    Justice Ekwo, consequently, sentenced Suleiman to three years imprisonment in count one and two years imprisonment in count two which would run concurrently from the date of the order.

    He equally ordered the company to be wound up and all its property to be forfeited to the Federal Government.

    “The said property shall be sold and the proceeds there of used to compensate the victims of this crime,” he declared.

    Earlier in the judgment, he said: “It is clear that the 1st and 2nd defendants conspired among yourselves together with their other staff to do an illegal act.

    “That is, to lure and offer for subscription an unregistered investment collective scheme valued over N2 billion to the unsuspecting general public.

    “On that note, I find that the offence of conspiracy in count one is proved as required by law and I so hold.”

    Justice Ekwo also held that by the evidence of the prosecution witnesses and the exhibits tendered, it was established that the defendants “ran a scheme in pursuance of which members of the public were invited or permitted to invest money in a portfolio for a participatory interest.

    “This evidence was never controverted by the defendants.

    “The position of the law as settled in many authorities is that evidence adduced in court, that is relevant to the issue in controversy, and has neither been challenged nor successfully debunked becomes good and credible evidence, which ought to be relied upon by a trial judge.”

    He said it was also pertinent to note that the MD herself admitted both in her evidence-in-chief and during cross-examination of running the scheme.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the office of the Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) had sued Suleiman and her firm as 1st and 2nd defendants.

    Although they were arraigned on Dec 8, 2021, on two counts bordering on alleged N2 billion fraud, the defendants pleaded not guilty.(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    ========
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Federal High Court begins annual vacation July 23

    Federal High Court begins annual vacation July 23

    Vacation

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 11, 2024 (NAN) The Federal High Court (FHC) will, on July 23, begin  its annual vacation.

    The FHC Assistant Director of Information/ICT, Dr Catherine Oby-Christopher, made this known in a statement on Tuesday in Abuja.

    The statement was titled: “Notification of Federal High Court Annual Vacation for the Year 2024 and Vacation Roster For Judges.”

    It reads in part: “By virtue of the provisions of Order 46, Rule 4 (d) of the Federal High Court (Civil Procedure) Rules 2019, the Chief Judge of the Federal High Court of Nigeria, Honourable Justice John Terhemba Tsoho, OFR, KSS, FCIArb.(UK) announces its 2024 Annual Vacation and Roster for Vacation Judges.

    “The vacation will commence from Tuesday, the 23rd day of July 2024 to Sept. 13.

    Normal court sitting, it added will resume on Sept. 16,  2024.

    “This is in order for judges to enjoy their well- deserved rest and to prepare for the tasks and activities of the New Legal year.”

    The statement advised the litigating public to approach Abuja, Lagos and Port-Harcourt divisions of the court for matters of extreme urgency during the period.

    Justice Emeka Nwite and Justice Peter Lifu of the Abuja division; Justice Akintayo Aluko and Justice Isaac Dipeolu for Lagos division and Justice A. T. Mohammed and Justice P. M. Ayua for Port- Harcourt were appointed vacation judges .(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)
    TOA/SH

    =======
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Nnamdi Kanu files contempt charge against DSS DG, Bichi

    Nnamdi Kanu files contempt charge against DSS DG, Bichi

    Contempt

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 10, 2024 (NAN) The leader of the proscribed Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), Nnamdi Kanu, has filed contempt charge against the Director General, Department of State Services (DSS), Yusuf Bichi, over his alleged refusal to obey court orders.

    Kanu, through his lawyer, Aloy Ejimakor, on Monday filed Form 49 titled: “Notice to Show Cause Why An Order Of Committal Should Not Be Made,” at the Federal High Court (FHC), Abuja.

    The application, marked: FHC/ABJ/CR/383/2015, is dated and filed on June 10.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that while the Federal Republic of Nigeria is listed as complainant/1st respondent, Yusuf Magaji Bichi is listed as 2nd respondent/contemnor.

    The IPOB leader alleged that despite being served with the orders of the trial judge, Justice Binta Nyako of a FHC in Abuja, made on May 20, Bichi had refused to comply with the said orders.

    NAN reports that Justice Nyako had, on May 20, declined to grant an application filed by Kanu to set aside his 2017 bail revocation following the allegation that he jumped bail.

    The judge also refused to transfer him to Kuje Correctional Centre or place him under house arrest as requested.

    However, Justice Nyako reviewed conditions for visiting the IPOB leader at the DSS facility by his lawyers.

    In a ruling, she varied the visitation days from two to three days in a week.

    The judge ordered that Kanu should be given a safe and “clean” room to prepare for his defence with his team of counsel not exceeding five in number, instead of three lawyers that was formerly directed.

    She equally ordered that Kanu and his lawyers should be allowed such a facility that is required for the preparation of his defence and be allowed to take notes.

    However, in the application, Kanu alleged that the DSS DG had failed to abide by the orders.

    It reads:in part: “Take Notice that the Defendant will on the ____day of _______, 2024, at the hour of 9 o’clock in the forenoon apply to this court for an order for your committal to prison for having disobeyed the order of this court made on the 20th day of May 2024, which stated in pertinent part as follows:

    “You have not complied with the 3 (three) days per week visitation to the Applicant as was ordered by the court.

    “You have not provided a safe and ‘clean’ room to the Applicant at the present facility to prepare for his defense with his team of counsel.

    “You have not allowed such facility that is required for the preparation of the Applicant’s defence, which facility you have disallowed on every visitation since the said order was entered, as set out below:

    “Interdiction, seizure, perusal and photocopying of legal documents relating to the trial preparation of the Applicant.

    “By not retracing your steps after you were, on the 31st day of May 2024, served with a Form 48; Notice of Consequences of Disobedience to Court.

    “AND TAKE FURTHER NOTICE that you are hereby required to attend the court on the first-mentioned day to show cause why an Order for your Committal should not be made.”(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    ========
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Court remands security expert for establishing illegal govt agency

    Court remands security expert for establishing illegal govt agency

    Suit

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 10, 2024 (NAN) A Federal High Court, Abuja, on Monday, ordered the remand of Dr Adejare Adegbenro in Kuje Correctional Centre for establishing an illegal government agency.

    Adegbenro was alleged to have established National Commission for the Coordination And Control Of Proliferation of Small Arms, Ammunitions And Light Weapons (NATCOM).

    Justice Emeka Nwite gave the order after he was arraigned by the Nigerian police on a six-count charge bordering on terrorism, advance fee fraud and cybercrimes.

    Adegbenro pleaded not guilty to the counts and the prosecutor, D.S. Akor, prayed the court to remand him in a correctional facility pending the conclusion of the trial.

    But the defendant’d lawyer, Chibuzor Ezike, told the court that a bail application had been filed on his client’s behalf.

    The bail application was, however, not in the court file.

    Justice Nwite, who adjourned the matter until June 24 to take the bail application, fixed July 18 for trial commencement.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that in the charge marked: FHC/ABJ/CR/246/2024, the Federal Republic of Nigeria is tye complainant while Dr Adejare Rewane Nurudeen Adegbenro is the sole defendant.

    In count one, Adegbenro and others at large were alleged to have, on or before April 17, at Government Secondary School, Tundun Wada, Wuse Zone 4, conspired to commit alleged terrorism.
    :
    They were alleged to have established an illegal organization known as National Commission for the Coordination And Control Of Proliferation Of Small Arms, Ammunitions And Light Weapons (NATCOM) without authorisation.

    The act was said to be prejudicial to national security and being an offence punishable under Section 26 of the Terrorism (Prevention and Prohibition) Act, 2022.

    In count three, he and others now at large were alleged to have , on or before Dec. 4, 2023, with intent to deceive, unlawfully assumed the name, character, designation of a National Coordination Of the National Centre For Control Of Smail Arms And Light Weapons, specifically posing as a government agency dealing with the coordination and control of proliferation of small arms, ammunitions and light weapons.

    The offence is contrary to Section 30 of the Terrorism (Prevention and Prohibition) Act 2022.

    In count four, Adegbenro was alleged to have, on April 28, with intent to defraud did obtain funds from certain persons by falsely presenting himself as an authorised agent of the Nigerian Government.

    He was alleged to have conducted staff recruitment in “the illegal National Commission For The Coordination And Control Of Proliferation Of Small Arms, Ammunitions And Light Weapons (NATCOM).”

    The offence is said to be contrary to Section 1(a) of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Related Offences Act, 2006, and punishable under Section 1(3) of the same Act, among other counts.(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    ========
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • No lodgement, withdrawal traced to Ali Bello in exhibits tendered–Witness

    No lodgement, withdrawal traced to Ali Bello in exhibits tendered–Witness

    Trial
    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 10, 2024 (NAN) Mr Olomotane Egoro, an Access Bank staff, on Monday admitted that Ali Bello, a co-defendant in the ongoing money laundering trial, neither lodged nor withdrew money in the bank statements tendered in the proceedings.

    Egoro, who is also an EFCC 2nd prosecution witness (PW2), stated this while being cross-examined by Bello’s counsel, Abdullahi Aliyu, SAN, before Justice Obiora Egwuatu of a Federal High Court, Abuja.

    Upon resumed hearing, Aliyu applied for some exhibits of bank statements tendered by the anti-graft agency.

    The bank statements belonged to some companies including Vifaz Multibiz Investment Company, Ary Consulting and Integrated Services, Hayzma Business Enterprise, e-Traders International Limited, and Aleshua Solutions Services.

    Other companies’ account statements tendered included that of Whales Oil and Gas, Forza Oil and Gas, Dada Grand Merchant Ltd, and that of the Unnatii and Jamilu Abdullahi.

    When Aliyu asked if there was any lodgement or withdrawal made by Bello in those accounts, the EFCC’s witness, after thoroughly going through the exhibits, said: “None my lord.”

    The lawyer also asked Egoro to confirm from Exhibit E if there was any payment made to T.B Bank United States, e-Traders International Limited, Aleshua Solutions Services and others, and the witness equally said: “None my lord.”

    When asked if there was any withdrawal that exceeded the statutory limit stipulated by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) in Exhibit E tendered, the witness said: “I don’t know what the limit was at the time.”

    “Do you know what it is now?” the lawyer asked the witness.

    Egoro responded that for an individual, the statutory withdrawal limit is N5 million while for a corporate body is N10 million.

    The witness, however, agreed that the bank usually adhere to the laid down rules in its transaction.

    He acknowledged that for Hayzma Business Enterprise account, the signatory is the 3rd defendant.

    He also agreed with the lawyer that for e-Traders’ account in Exhibit G, the only person that made payment into that account was the 2nd defendant.

    Egoro confirmed that the 1st, 3rd and 4th defendants never made any payment into the account.

    When asked if there was anything wrong in a signatory to an account to withdraw money from the same account, the witness said: “No, my lord.”

    He said he was aware that the federal, state and local governments do award contracts to individuals and that when such contracts are executed, payments are made.

    The witness admitted that majority of the transactions he earlier identified from the accounts belonging to the 2nd to 4th defendants which were suspected to be proceeds of money laundering from the LGAs or Kogi state were proceeds from a loan of N2 billion accessed from the bank by the 4th defendant’s company.

    Justice Egwuatu adjourned the matter until June 24 for counsel for the 2nd to 4th defendants, Mr Nureini Jimoh, SAN, to cross-examine Egoro.

    NAN reports that in the charge marked: FHC/ABJ/CR/573/2022, Bello and three others are facing trial on an alleged N3 billion fraud charge preferred against them by the anti-graft agency.(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    ======
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Alleged extra-judicial killings: Lawyer files leave to appeal against judgment

    Alleged extra-judicial killings: lawyer files leave to appeal against judgment

    Appeal

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, Jan. 9, 2024 (NAN) An Abuja-based human rights and constitutional lawyer, Emmanuel Ekpenyong, has filed a motion for leave to appeal at the Supreme Court, the judgment of Court of Appeal, Abuja delivered on March 27, which dismissed his case against the Federal Government.

    It would be recalled that the Court of Appeal had, on March 27, dismissed Ekpenyong’s appeal on the alleged prevalence of extra-judicial killings in the country and affirmed the decision of the trial court.

    The appellate court upheld a Federal High Court (FHC) Abuja judgment delivered by Justice Nkeonye Maha, on May 6, 2022, that dismissed his suit seeking to address the alleged increasing cases of extra-judicial killings by the law enforcement agencies and non-state actors in Nigeria.

    The three-member Justices, chaired by Justice Joseph Oyewole, unanimously held that the appellant, Ekpenyong of the law firm of Fred-Young & Evans LP, lacked requisite locus standi (legal right) to institute the suit.

    Justice Oyewole-led panel also awarded a N250, 000 costs against the lawyer.

    However, in a notice of notion for leave to appeal marked: CA/ABJ/PRE/ROA/CU/582mi/2024 between Emmanuel Ekpenyong Esq. Vs. President, Federal Republic of Nigeria and Attorney-General and Minister of Justice of the Federation, the lawyer sought two orders.

    The motion, dated and filed June 5, was made available to newsmen on Sunday in Abuja.

    He sought an order granting him leave to appeal against the decision of the Appeal Court in appeal number: CA/ABJ/CV/1200/2022, on grounds of mixed law and facts as set out in his proposed notice of appeal annexed as “Exhibit JO3.”

    He also sought an order granting leave to him to appeal against the concurrent findings of the FHC in suit no. FHC/ABJ/CS/755/2020; and the judgment of the Appeal Court in appeal no. CA/ABJ/CV/1200/2022; on the extent of his right to life guaranteed under Section 33 (1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

    In the proposed notice of appeal, Ekpenyong contended that the Appeal Court justices misdirected themselves and erred in law when they held that reasonable cause of action vest him with the requisite locus standi to institute the suit.

    He said the judges also erred in law when they failed to consider the provisions of Article 3 (e) of the Fundamental Right Enforcement Procedure Rules, 2009 which confirmed his locus standi in the suit.

    He said instead, they relied on the general principle of law on reasonable cause to arrive at the conclusion that he had no locus standi to institute his fundamental human right suit.

    He argued that the appellate court erred in law when they held that his suit for interpretation of the extent of his constitutional right to life enshrined in Section 33 (1) of the Constitution did not disclose a reasonable cause of action and is mere academic and hypothetical.

    According to him, the Court of Appeal did not state why the surviving paragraphs of the affidavit in support of the originating summons did not constitute a reasonable cause of action.

    Ekpenyong equally argued that the court erred in law when it affirmed the trial court’s award of N100, 000 costs against him and awarded an additional cost of N250, 000 against him, even where the trial court did not state its reason for the fine.

    Besides, he said that no valid reason could be seen from the Court of Appeal’s sanction as well against him for prosecuting a suit for interpretation of his constitutional right to life enshrined in Section 33 (1) of the Constitution”

    Against these backgrounds, he argued that “the findings of both the trial court and Court of Appeal is perverse and was reached as a result of a wrong approach to the evidence before them and a wrong application of principle of substantive law and procedure.”

    He said there was a need for him to appeal their decision to the Supreme Court for the court to interfere with the findings of both courts.

    “This constitutes an exceptional circumstance for this Honourable Court to grant this application,” Ekpenyong said.

    He equally said that being dissatisfied with the judgment of the Court of Appeal, he is desirous of appealing against the concurrent findings in the judgment of both the lower and upper courts on questions of mixed law and facts.

    The lawyer said the application is made in the interest of justice.(NAN)www.nannews.ng)

    TOA/SH

    ======
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Council crisis: Court summons UniAbuja VC

    Council crisis: Court summons UniAbuja VC

    Suit
    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 7, 2024 (NAN) A Federal High Court, Abuja, on Friday, ordered the Vice Chancellor (VC) of University of Abuja, Prof. Rasheed Na’Allah, to appear before it on June 13 to show cause why the planned inauguration of the newly elected Internal Governing Council Members of the institution should not be stopped.

    Justice Inyang Ekwo gave the order, in a ruling, shortly after the plaintiffs’ counsel, Maxwell Opara, moved an ex-parte motion to the effect.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the plaintiffs; Prof. Saint Gbilekaa, Prof. Edmund Nwanna, Prof. Sunday Ejaro, Prof. Kasim Umar, Prof. Wesley Nafarnda and Dr Uju Patrick, had filed the motion ex-parte marked: FHC/ABJ/CS/683/2024.

    The six aggrieved senior lecturers had sued the VC; President, Federal Republic of Nigeria; Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) and National Universities Commission (NUC) as 1st to 4th defendants respectively.

    In the motion dated and filed June 5 through their lawyer, Opara, they sought seven reliefs, which include an order of interim injunction directing all parties to maintain status quo ante bellum pending the determination of the motion on notice.

    They also sought an order of interim injunction restraining the 1st defendant (VC) and others from conducting any inauguration of the newly elected internal council members of the university pending the determination of the motion on notice.

    They equally sought an interim injunction restraining the 2nd to 4th defendants from recognising, accepting or otherwise having anything to do with any person or persons purportedly elected as Internal Council Members of the university’s Governing Council by Na’Allah pending the determination of the substantive suit.

    The plaintiffs sought an interim injunction stopping any person or group of persons newly elected as members of Internal Governing Council by the VC in an election conducted on May 28 from parading themselves as of the council pending the determination of the motion on notice.

    They prayed the court to make an interim order restraining Na’Allah from setting up any administrative panel of inquiry or disciplinary committee for the purpose of sanctioning, discipline or questioning the six of them who are the substantive parties in this suit, as any of such as will be prejudicial to the unfettered powers of the honourable court.

    Giving six grounds why the motion should be granted, they argued that the case was duly filed on May 22 and copies of all the processes duly served on Na’Allah by the bailiff

    They said despite the pendency of the suit in court, Na’Allah conducted “the purported election of new Governing Council on May 28, 2024.”

    “The inauguration of the Council of Federal Universities may take place at any moment and presenting the purportedly elected persons as internal Council members of the University of Abuja would have the effect of destroying the res in this case.

    “That the 1st defendant/respondent is intimidating the claimants for approaching court,” they said, among others.

    Justice Ekwo then ordered the plaintiffs to put the defendants on notice of the motion ex-parte within three days of the order.

    “Defendants/Respondents to show cause on the next date of hearing the prayers of the plaintiffs/applicants on the motion ex-parte ought not be granted,” he said.

    The judge subsequently adjourned the matter until June 13 for defendants to show cause.(NAN)(www.nannews.ng)
    TOA/SH

    =======
    edited by Sadiya Hamza

  • Tariff increase: Tribunal fines Multichoice N150m, free subscription for contempt

    Fine

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 7, 2024 (NAN) A Competition and Consumer Protection Tribunal (CCPT) on Friday slammed N150 million fine against Multichoice Nig. Ltd. for disobeying its order on subscription rates hike for DStv and Gotv packages.

    The tribunal, sitting in Abuja, also ordered the PayTv operator to give one month free subscription to all its Nigerian subscribers on the DStv and Gotv platforms, for flouting its order.

    The three-member tribunal chaired by Thomas Okosun in a ruling, found Multichoice culpable of contempt, by flouting its earlier order restraining the PayTv operator from implementing hike in its subscription rates for DStv and GOtv.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the CCPT had, on April 29, restrained MultiChoice from increasing its tariffs and cost of products and services scheduled to begin on May 1.

    The tribunal gave the interim order following an ex-parte motion moved by Ejiro Awaritoma, counsel for the applicant, Festus Onifade.

    Onifade, a legal practitioner and subscriber had approached the tribunal contending that the 8-day notice given by Multichoice for a price hike was insufficient.

    Respondents in the case were MultiChoice and Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC).

    He urged the tribunal to restrain Multichoice  from implementing the tariff hike from May 1 as planned, pending the hearing determination of the petition.

    The tribunal granted the ex-parte motion of the applicant and stopped the PayTv operator from going ahead with the price increase in the interim.

    However, in defiance of the tribunal’s order, MultiChoice hiked its subscription rates for DStv and Gotv packages on the scheduled date (May 1).

    Following the price hike, Onifade, on May 7, commenced contempt proceedings against Mr Mohammed Sani, Manager of Abuja office of MultiChoice Nigeria Ltd, over alleged disobedience to the order made by the CCPT.

    The Notice of Consequence of Disobedience to Order of Court (Form 48) marked: CCPT/OP/02/2024 dated and filed on May 7 by Onifade, warned Sani against disregard to the tribunal order.

    MultiChoice, through its lawyer, Moyosore Onigbanjo, SAN, filed a preliminary objection praying the tribunal to decline jurisdiction in the suit.

    Onigbanjo argued that such price dispute case had been decided before, in favour of his client.

    Onifade, in his response, urged the tribunal to discountenance the company’s objection and direct it to pay the sum of N10 billion or any amount the panel might deem fit in the circumstance for deliberately disobeying and failure to comply with the interim order.

    The lawyer argued that the issue he brought did not border on price regulation or increase.

    He explained that what he placed before the court was whether the company gave adequate notice in respect of the May 1 subscription price increase.

    “It is our submission that the 8-days notice issued by Multichoice Nigeria Ltd is insufficient in law.

    “A monthly subscriber should be given at least a month,” he said, praying the tribunal to dismiss the preliminary objection for being a waste of time of the court.

    Delivering the ruling, the Thomas Okosun-led tribunal agreed with Onifade’s submission, prompting the panel to affirm its jurisdiction and rule against the company.

    The tribunal subsequently fixed July 3 for hearing of the substantive suit of the claimant.(NAN)(www.namnews.ng)

    TOA/ROT.

    ========

    Edited by Rotimi Ijikanmi

     

  • Alleged N1.85bn fraud: Court orders arrest of 3 Electricity Agency officials

    Alleged N1.85bn fraud: Court orders arrest of 3 Electricity Agency officials

    Fraud

    By Taiye Agbaje

    Abuja, June 6, 2024 (NAN) A Federal High Court in Abuja on Thursday, ordered the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC) to arrest three officials of Rural.Electrification Agency for failure to appear in court for their arraignment.

    Justice Emeka Nwite, in a ruling, gave the order for the issuance of arrest warrant against the officials; Emmanuel Pada Titus, Umar Musa Laraye and Henrientta Onomen Okojie, involved in an alleged N1.853 billion fraud.

    The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the ICPC had preferred separate four-count charges against the affected officials over allegations of misappropriation of public funds meant for the provision of electricity to rural communities across the country.

    In the first charge marked: FHC/ABJ/CR/204/24, the anti-corruption agency sued Titus as sole defendant.

    The commission sued Karaye in the second charge marked: FHC/ABJ/CR/202/24, while Okojie was equally sued in the charge number: FHC/ABJ/CR/203/24.

    When the three cases were called, none of the three defendants was in court to take a plea.

    The prosecution lawyer, Osuobeni Akponimisingha, told the Justice Nwite that Titus, Karaye and Okojie were served with copies of the charges and duly informed of the day’s proceedings, but chose to stay away on their own volition.

    Akponimisingha explained that the defendants were on administrative bail, but owing to their absence from the court, he urged the judge to issue a bench warrant for their arrests.

    He cited Sections 114, 124 and 184 of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act (ACJA), 2015, to back his application.

    In a short ruling, the judge granted the lawyer’s application as prayed.

    He held that he was convinced that the defendants deliberately absented themselves from the court, while delivering separate rulings on each of the applications.

    Justice Nwite, who ordered the trio’s arrest, directed that they should be produced in court in the next adjourned date.

    While the judge adjourned Titus and Karaye’s cases until June 13 for arraignment, he fixed June 14 for the arraignment of Okojie.

    However, the ICPC arraigned Usman Ahmed Kwakwa, also an official of REA on a four-count charge bordering on fraud.

    Kwakwa pleaded not guilty to the counts preferred against him.

    Justice Nwite admitted him to a N50 million bail after the prosecution lawyer, Akponimisingha, did not oppose the defence lawyer’s bail request.(NAN)(wee.nannews.ng)
    TOA/SH

    ======
    edited by Sadiya Hamza